shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Sep 20th - OACCPP 41st Annual Conference & AGM: Trauma, Resilience & Adaptability [OACCPP: the Ontario Association of Consultants, Counsellors, Psychometrists and Psychotherapists]
Sep 20th - Building Recovery Capital in Canada: Building on Our Strengths to Overcome Addiction - Saskatchewan [Last Door Recovery Society]
Sep 20th - Teenagers Today: What you need to know - Session 1: Signs, Symptoms and Risk Factors of Suicide. Session 2: How to Engage Adolescents in Psychotherapy. [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Sep 23rd - Mental Health for All CMHA National Conference: Connection Interrupted: Restoring Mental Health in a Fractured World [Canadian Mental Health Association]
Sep 23rd - Integrating EMDR into Your Clinical Practice: Five-Day Intensive in Vancouver [Leading Edge Seminars]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Courage to Say No: A Female Doctor's Battle Against Sexual Exploitation in Pakistan
Mahmood, Raana with John DeSimone
Skyhorse Publishing Inc / Hardcover / 2019-08-01 / 1510742247
reg price: $32.30 our price: $ 27.46 (may be subject to change)
224 pages
Not in stock - ships in 1 to 2 weeks.

Sexual harassment is in the news almost every day. Countless women have been intimidated into silence or their careers and lives have been ruined because they refused to submit to unwanted sexual advances. Yet, sexual harassment coupled with corruption is not singularly an American affliction. Itís an ancient disease, a truly universal tale. Dr. Raana Mahmood's story, Courage to Stay No, is a narrative of standing up against sexual corruption in her home country of Pakistan. It epitomizes the courage, audacity, and determination required to resist becoming a victim in a culture that places little value on divorced women. One that openly allows men to have a second, a third, and a fourth wife, all at a manís pleasure.

After escaping from her husband's physical, verbal, and emotional abuse with her young son in tow, Dr. Mahmood filed for divorce and took up residency as gynecologist at a nearby hospital. After facing years of harassment from her colleagues for being a working woman, and suffering a nervous breakdown because of the vitriol, Dr. Mahmood eventually received a grant of asylum from the United States, where she became an advocate for other women looking to escape domestic violence and an inspiration to those suffering in silence.

In the vein of Reading Lolita in Tehran and Infidel, Courage to Say No is a remarkable and empowering story for our times.

About the Authors:

Dr. Raana Mahmood , a citizen of Pakistan, graduated from Peoplesí Medical College in Nawab Shah, Sind, Pakistan with a specialization is gynecology. After years of suffering domestic abuse and sexual assault at the hands of her husband, she eventually fled her home with her young son. Over the next two decades, Dr. Mahmood worked tirelessly helping many impoverished and neglected people obtain quality medical care. She wrote articles for the English and Urdu newspapers and magazines on elderly and womenís issues. In 2002, she received a fellowship from Federation of World Love and Peace at the U.N. In 2004, she was the recipient of a fellowship from ASHOKA International in the US. She is currently working with several organizations in New York, including the UN, ICNA, Humanist Organization, Scholars at Risk, HIAS, JASA, Upwardly Global, Dress for Success, Health Right International, Ashoka International, FOWPOL, Libertas Center, The Friedlander Group, and Make The Road. She lives alone in New York and continues to advocate for womenís rights to be free from sexual harassment at every opportunity.

John DeSimone spent twenty plus years working in corporate marketing and sales. He escaped corporate life in 1999, when he began freelancing editing with A-1 Editing Services in Oregon. In 2004, he completed an MFA in Creative Writing from Spalding University in Louisville, KentuckyAs a ghostwriter, heís written several self-help books, and then completed a memoir for Natalie Suleman, Octomom. John taught freshman writing from 2008 to 2011 as an adjunct professor at Biola University. In May 2012, he won a Norman Mailer Fellowship and lived on Cape Cod for a month where he completed a draft of his novel, Road to Delano. Heís written memoirs for Bob Filner, Lizanne Falsetto, and several others.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2019

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail info@cavershambooksellers.com
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
Skyhorse Publishing