shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
textbooks
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Feb 19th - closed Family Day [the legislators of statutory holidays]
Feb 20th - Hey! What’s Going On? Reclaiming Disability Studies [OISE U of T]
Feb 22nd - Level 2 Trauma Certificate: Advanced Clinical Trauma [SickKids Centre for Community Mental Health / Hincks-Dellcrest Institute]
Feb 24th - Cultivating Presence and Well-Being: An Urban Retreat of Mindful Drumming, Photography and Meditation [Dr. Shari Geller]
Feb 28th - Cognitive Behaviour Therapy Treatment for Psychosis [SickKids Centre for Community Mental Health / Hincks-Dellcrest Institute]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
DBT Made Simple: A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy
Van Dijk, Sheri, MSW
New Harbinger professional books / Softcover / 2013-01-01 / 1608821641
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
price: $56.95
256 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.

The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue - everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist in private practice and at Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, ON, Canada. She is the author of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder and Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens and coauthor of The Bipolar Workbook for Teens. In September 2010, she received the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association for her research on using DBT skills to treat bipolar disorder. More information is available at www.sherivandijk.com .

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2014

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail info@cavershambooksellers.com
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
related events
2017 ISIPT
Advanced DBT: Going Beyond The Basics
Calming The Emotional Storm: Using DBT To Help You
CBT Certification at Leading Edge
CPA 2016 Titles on Display
Dan Dalton 2016 Lane Pederson
DBT Intensive: Going Beyond The Basics
OPA 2016 Ont Psycl Assn
SheriVanDijkDisplay
authors
Van Dijk, Sheri
other lists
2014 Toolkit Titles
Annual Resource Catalogue 2013
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
Made Simple series
New Harbinger
New Harbinger Professional Titles
Popular at Gabor Mate
Youth Concurrent Disorders