shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
May 23rd - 4th Canadian Conference on Positive Psychology: Bridging Canadian Wellbeing [Canadian Positive Psychology Association | L'Association Canadienne de Psychologie Positive]
May 24th - Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: Blending Theory with Innovative Techniques [SickKids Centre for Community Mental Health / Hincks-Dellcrest Institute]
May 24th - Risky Behaviour: Treating Trauma, Attachment Disturbance, and Self-Endangerment [Leading Edge Seminars]
May 25th - 31th Annual Conference of the Medical Psychotherapy Association Canada | Paradigms and Tools for Psychotherapy [Medical Psychotherapy Association Canada (MDPAC/GPPA)]
May 26th - A Mindful Society 2018: From Curiosity to Compassion [A Mindful Society]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
DBT Made Simple: A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy
Van Dijk, Sheri, MSW
New Harbinger professional books / Softcover / 2013-01-01 / 1608821641
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
reg price: $56.95 our price: 48.41
256 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.

The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue - everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist in private practice and at Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, ON, Canada. She is the author of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder and Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens and coauthor of The Bipolar Workbook for Teens. In September 2010, she received the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association for her research on using DBT skills to treat bipolar disorder. More information is available at www.sherivandijk.com .

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2014

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail info@cavershambooksellers.com
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
related events
2017 ISIPT
Advanced DBT: Going Beyond The Basics
Calming the Emotional Storm: Using DBT to Help You
Calming The Emotional Storm: Using DBT To Help You
CBT Certification at Leading Edge
CPA 2016 Titles on Display
DBT Intensive: Going Beyond The Basics
SheriVanDijkDisplay
authors
Van Dijk, Sheri
other lists
2014 Toolkit Titles
Annual Resource Catalogue 2013
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
Made Simple series
New Harbinger
New Harbinger Professional Titles
Youth Concurrent Disorders