shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Apr 2nd - *postponed* Dialectical Behaviour Therapy Part 1: An introduction to essential components [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Apr 4th - *postponed* Psychoanalysis and Marxism [Lacan Toronto]
Apr 6th - *online* EFT for PTSD and Complex PTSD [Ananda Mental Health Workshops]
Apr 16th - Calming the Emotional Storm: Using Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) to Treat Emotion Dysregulation [MAGentix]
Apr 16th - *canceled* 14th Annual Risk & Recovery Forensic Conference [St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton and McMaster University]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Together, Closer: The Art and Science of Intimacy in Friendship, Love, and Family
Frazzetto, Giovanni
Penguin Books / Softcover / 2017-07-01 / 0143109448
Relationships (Self Help)
price: $22.00 (may be subject to change)
208 pages
Not in stock - ships in one week.

For readers of Oliver Sacks and Stephen Grosz, a wondrous, deeply felt book that explores intimacy through the stories of eight relationships, from the author of Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love

The bonds we are capable of feeling toward other people—how we know and belong to one another—provide fascinating glimpses into the intricacies of human behavior. Intimacy is that moment when our true identity is revealed to another, when traumas, fears, and ambitions are shared. Through the ordinary stories of eight relationships, Giovanni Frazzetto has woven an extraordinary narrative of togetherness. He shares the details of romantic partners trapped in a long cycle of attraction and rejection, a single woman who finds herself deep in a fictional relationship with a boyfriend she has invented out of frustration with her love life, and a couple absorbed in a years-long clandestine affair. But intimacy can also extend beyond romantic encounters: coping with the loss of a loved one, dealing with overbearing or emotionally distant parents, or celebrating the joys and comforts of our dearest friends.

In Together, Closer, Frazzetto unravels the components of intimacy in all of these relationships, illuminating the mysteries, challenges, and pleasures of intimacy through a brilliant mix of storytelling and science.

About the Author:

Giovanni Frazzetto grew up on the South-East coast of Sicily. In 1995, after high school, he moved to the UK to study science at University College London and in 2002 he received a PhD from the European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg. In his work, Giovanni passionately connects art and science. He contributes to the international magazines Nature and Science and has written for Haaretz, the Irish Times, Village Magazine, The Huffington Post and Psychology Today. He was one of the founders of the European Neuroscience & Society Network and the creator of the transdisciplinary Neuroschools. Giovanni has also written short stories and plays and curated science-inspired art exhibitions. A 2008 recipient of the John Kendrew Young Scientist Award, Frazzetto is now a visiting research fellow at Trinity College Dublin.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2019

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Frazzetto, Giovanni
other lists
Caversham 2018 Catalogue Titles
Penguin
Relationships (Self Help)