shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Sep 23rd - Extension COURSE ONE - Lacan from the Beginnings [tps&i]
Sep 26th - Extension COURSE THREE - Discussing Netflix Series with Psychoanalysts [tps&i]
Oct 1st - ISSTD Toronto 2021 - Changing Landscapes: Transforming the Way We Understand and Treat Complex Trauma [ISSTD]
Oct 5th - Extension COURSE TWO - Understanding of Work Groups Through the Psychoanalytic Lens [tps&i]
Oct 25th - 68th annual meeting of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Atlanta, GA [AACAP]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Now open for browsing 12-6 Mon-Sat and 12-5 Sunday for three people at a time. Pickups still from 9 to 6, Monday to Saturday. Free shipping across Canada for orders over $100. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
This Is Not the End of Me: Lessons on Living from a Dying Man
Dakshan Bascaramurty
McClelland & Stewart / Softcover / 2020-08-01 / 0771009631
Hospice / Palliative Care / Biography and Memoir
price: $24.95
296 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

For readers of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air and Will Schwalbe, the moving, inspiring story of a young husband and father who, when diagnosed with terminal cancer at the age of thirty-three, sets out to build a legacy for his infant son.

i can't make you feel what it's like to be a young, dumb, naïve thirty-year-old sitting in the back of a walk-in clinic waiting to be handed what is essentially a death sentence any more than i can show you what it feels like to have a husband or father or child who's dying and knowing there is nothing you can do to stop it. i can only describe to you how i feel today. angry. at peace. scared. grateful. a giant, spiky, flowering heart-shaped bouquet of contradictions.

Layton Reid was a globe-trotting, risk-taking, sunshine-addicted bachelor--then came a melanoma diagnosis. Cancer startled him out of his arrested development--he returned home to Halifax to work as a wedding photographer--and remission launched him into a new, passionate life as a husband and father-to-be. When the melanoma returned, now at Stage IV, Layton and his family put all their stock into a punishing alternative therapy, hoping for a cure. This Is Not the End of Me recounts Layton's three-year journey as he tried desperately to stay alive for his young son, Finn, and then found purpose in preparing Finn for a world without him.

With incredible intimacy, grit, and empathy, reporter Dakshana Bascaramurty casts an unsentimental eye on who her good friend was: his effervescence, his twisted wit, his anger, his vulnerability. Interweaving Layton's own reflections--his diaries written for Finn, his letters to his wife, Candace, and his public journal--she paints a keenly observed portrait of Layton's remarkable evolution. In detailing the ugly, surprising, and occasionally funny ways in which Layton and his family faced his mortality, the book offers an unflinching look at how a person dies, and how we might build a legacy in our information-saturated age.

Powerful and unvarnished, This is Not the End of Me is about someone who didn't get a very happy ending, but learned to squeeze as much life as possible from his final days.

About the Author:

Dakshana Bascaramurty is a national news reporter for the Globe and Mail who writes about race and ethnicity. She won a 2013 National Newspaper Award in beat reporting for her coverage of changing demographics in Toronto’s 905 region, and in 2018 a silver medal for Best Arts and Culture Story, at the Digital Publishing Awards for “Kent Monkman: the modern touch of an old master.” Before joining the Globe and Mail in 2009, her work appeared in the National Post, the Ottawa Citizen and on CBC. This is her first book.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / 12-5 Sun (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
Biography and Memoir
Hospice / Palliative Care
LocalAuthHoliday2020
McClelland and Stewart
SocialPoliHoliday2020