shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Sep 29th - OAMHP 2022 Conference [OAMHP - Ontario Association of Mental Health Professionals]
Sep 29th - Certificate in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) Level 1: The foundations [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Sep 30th - The Young Jung [C.G. Jung Foundation of Ontario]
Sep 30th - CADDRA 18th Annual ADHD Conference [CADDRA]
Oct 1st - Architecture & Wellbeing: Designing for Mental Health Care [DesignTO, KPMB and CAMH]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Now open for browsing 12-6 Mon-Sat and 12-5 Sunday for three people at a time. Pickups still from 9 to 6, Monday to Saturday. Free shipping across Canada for orders over $100. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
The Syndetic Paradigm : The Untrodden Path Beyond Freud and Jung
Robert Aziz
SUNY Press (State University of New York) / Softcover / Feb 2007
9780791469828 (ISBN-10: 0791469824)
C. G. Jung / Freud
price: $55.75 (may be subject to change)
322 pages
Not in Stock, usually ships in 3-4 weeks

Offers a new theoretical paradigm that goes beyond the limitations of Freudian and Jungian psychological models.

In The Syndetic Paradigm, Robert Aziz argues that the Jungian Paradigm is a deeply flawed theoretical model that falls short of its promise. Aziz offers in its stead what he calls the Syndetic Paradigm. In contrast to the Jungian Paradigm, the Syndetic Paradigm takes the critical theoretical step of moving from a closed-system model of a self-regulatory psyche to an open-system model of a psyche in a self-organizing totality. The Syndetic Paradigm, in this regard, holds that all of life is bound together in a highly complex whole through an ongoing process of spontaneous self-organization. The new theoretical model that emerges in Aziz’s work, while taking up the fundamental concerns of its Freudian and Jungian predecessors with psychology, ethics, spirituality, sexuality, politics, and culture, conducts us to an experience of meaning that altogether exceeds their respective bounds.

--- from the publisher

Reviews:

“Grounded in both theory and practice, Aziz offers a solid critique of both Freud and Jung and presents a model that goes beyond them. The Syndetic Paradigm will creatively challenge Freudian and Jungian theorists of all kinds, including cultural theorists. The critique and correction that Aziz offers is of fundamental importance.” — Harold Coward, author of Yoga and Psychology: Language, Memory, and Mysticism

“This book is an absolute must for readers of Jungian and Freudian literature. It is one of the rare works that takes a brand new look at the whole landscape of depth psychology and has the courage to say that each of the two established paradigms has important shortcomings, blind spots, and outright contradictions.” — Jeffrey C. Miller, author of The Transcendent Function: Jung’s Model of Psychological Growth through Dialogue with the Unconscious

“Lucidly written and richly illustrated with clinical material, Aziz’s book goes beyond highlighting problems in Jungian and Freudian theory to propose a cogent new model that resolves them. The result is a profound and captivating work that is infused with spiritual wisdom as well as psychological insight. It is a book that deserves to be seriously pondered not only by psychotherapists but by all those seeking a coherent and dignifying new paradigm of our human being in the world.” — Roderick Main, author of Revelations of Chance: Synchronicity as Spiritual Experience

Contents

Acknowledgments
Introduction

I. Self-Organizing Nature

II. Nature’s Intrinsic Morality

III. Sexual Alchemy

IV. The Empty Mandala

Notes
Bibliography
Index

About the Author:

Robert Aziz is a psychotherapist in private practice, an executive consultant within the business sector, and has lectured on the psychology of the unconscious. He is a Clinical Member of the Ontario Society of Psychotherapists and a Full Member of the Canadian Psychological Association, and is the author of C. G. Jung’s Psychology of Religion and Synchronicity, also published by SUNY Press.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Aziz, Robert
other lists
C. G. Jung
Freud
SUNY Press
University Presses