shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Jan 21st - Relational Challenges in Complex Trauma: A Collaborative Model for Effective Therapy [Leading Edge Seminars]
Jan 23rd - Sitting Still Like a Frog: Mindfulness Exercises for Kids and Their Parents [Leading Edge Seminars]
Jan 25th - Winnicott in the Clinic - CAPCT Extension Program Winter 2021 [Canadian Association of Psychoanalytic Child Therapists CAPCT)]
Feb 3rd - Its a Beautiful Day in the Playborhood [Core Wellness]
Feb 9th - Interrupting the Vicious Cycle of Toxic Stories in Addictions and Trauma Treatment [Leading Edge Seminars]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Due to Covid-19, we are now open only for deliveries and pickups. Still free shipping across Canada for orders over $50. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
Player One: What Is to Become of Us - a novel in five hours | CBC Massey Lectures
Coupland, Douglas
House of Anansi / Softcover / 2010-10-01 / 0887849725
Of General Interest
price: $19.95 (may be subject to change)
256 pages
Not in Stock, usually ships in 3-6 business days

The new CBC Massey Lectures -- the most prestigious and eagerly anticipated lectures series of the year -- are being delivered in 2010 by international bestselling author Douglas Coupland.

Coupland's 2010 Massey Lecture is a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.

In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species -- and that there is no turning back.

DOUGLAS COUPLAND is the international bestselling author of Generation X, and eleven other novels, including The Gum Thief, Hey Nostradamus!, All Families Are Psychotic, and Generation A, which was a national bestseller and a finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. His nonfiction books include Marshall McLuhan, Polaroids from the Dead, Terry: The Life of Terry Fox, and Souvenir of Canada. His books have been translated into thirty-five languages and published in many countries around the world. He is also a visual artist and sculptor, furniture designer and screenwriter. He lives in Vancouver, B.C.

--- from the publisher

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / 12-5 Sun (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Coupland, Douglas
other lists
CBC Massey Lectures
House of Anansi Press
Of General Interest