shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Jan 23rd - Identifying and working through problematic parenting patterns in treatment [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jan 24th - Incorporating Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) Informed Practice Working with Children, Adolescents and Their Families [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jan 25th - Understanding and comparing dreams from multiple perspectives in analytic treatments [The Toronto Institute for Contemporary Psychoanalysis]
Jan 28th - So, You Only Have Eight Sessions, What Do You Do? Integrating Evidence Based Practices in Time-Limited Psychotherapy/Counselling [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jan 30th - Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: Blending Theory with Innovative Techniques [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Player One: What Is to Become of Us - a novel in five hours | CBC Massey Lectures
Coupland, Douglas
House of Anansi / Softcover / 2010-10-01 / 0887849725
Of General Interest
price: $19.95 (may be subject to change)
256 pages
Not in stock - ships in 1 to 2 weeks.

The new CBC Massey Lectures -- the most prestigious and eagerly anticipated lectures series of the year -- are being delivered in 2010 by international bestselling author Douglas Coupland.

Coupland's 2010 Massey Lecture is a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.

In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species -- and that there is no turning back.

DOUGLAS COUPLAND is the international bestselling author of Generation X, and eleven other novels, including The Gum Thief, Hey Nostradamus!, All Families Are Psychotic, and Generation A, which was a national bestseller and a finalist for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. His nonfiction books include Marshall McLuhan, Polaroids from the Dead, Terry: The Life of Terry Fox, and Souvenir of Canada. His books have been translated into thirty-five languages and published in many countries around the world. He is also a visual artist and sculptor, furniture designer and screenwriter. He lives in Vancouver, B.C.

--- from the publisher

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2019

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Coupland, Douglas
other lists
CBC Massey Lectures
House of Anansi Press
Of General Interest