shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Oct 14th - 66th annual meeting of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Chicago, IL [AACAP]
Oct 14th - SPECIAL EVENT – Infant Research and Adult Treatment: A Study Evening [tps&i - Toronto Psychoanalytic Society & Institute]
Oct 16th - 8 Week Mindful Self-Compassion Program [The Centre for MindBody Health]
Oct 16th - The Leadership Edge: Empower and engage employees for maximum performance [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Oct 16th - Management Certificate: Leadership training specifically designed for health and human service professionals [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Caring Economics: Conversations on Altruism and Compassion, Between Scientists, Economists, and the Dalai Lama
Singer, Tania and Matthieu Ricard (Eds) with a Foreword by His Holiness The Dalai Lama
St Martins Press / Softcover / 2017-08-01 / 1250071224
Self Help
price: $18.50 (may be subject to change)
256 pages
Not in stock - ships in 1 to 2 weeks.

Can the hyper-ambitious, bottom-line-driven practices of the global economy incorporate compassion into the pursuit of wealth? Or is economics driven solely by materialism and self-interest? In Caring Economics , experts consider these questions alongside the Dalai Lama in a wide-ranging, scientific-based discussions on economics and altruism.

Begun in 1987, the Mind and Life Institute arose out of a series of conferences held with the Dalai Lama and a range of scientists that sought to form a connection between the empiricism of contemporary scientific inquiry and the contemplative, compassion-based practices of Buddhism. Caring Economics is based on a conference held by the Mind and Life Institute in Zurich in which experts from all over the world gathered to discuss the possibility of having a global economy focused on compassion and altruism. Each chapter consists of a presentation by an expert in the field, followed by a discussion with the Dalai Lama in which he offers his response and his own unique insights on the subject.

In this provocative and inspiring book, learn how wealth doesn't need to be selfish, that in fact, empathy and compassion may be the path to a healthier world economy.

Includes a foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama

For readers of Michael J. Sandel, Thich Nhat Hanh, Thomas Piketty, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama

About the Author:

Dr. Tania Singer is the Director of the Department of Social Neuroscience at the Max Planck Institute for Human and Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig.

Mattieu Ricard holds a PhD in cell genetics and is a French Buddhist monk who resides at Shechen Monastery in Nepal, where he runs more than a hundred humanitarian projects. He is the author of many bestselling titles, including The Monk and the Philosopher and The Quantum and the Lotus .

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2019

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail info@cavershambooksellers.com
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
MacMillan Group
Raincoast
Self Help
St Martin's Press