shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Aug 14th - Deep Summer Retreat [Hugh Smiley]
Sep 4th - The Deepest Kindness: ACT and the Therapeutic Relationship [Ottawa River Psychology Group]
Sep 14th - Integrating EMDR into Your Clinical Practice: Five-Day Intensive in Toronto [Leading Edge Seminars]
Sep 23rd - Supporting the Mental Health Needs of Racialized Young People [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Sep 24th - OAMHP 2020 Conference - Diversity in Action: Mental Health for the Underserved [OAMHP - Ontario Association of Mental Health Professionals]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Free shipping across Canada for all orders over $50. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
Unforbidden Pleasures
Phillips, Adam
St Martins Press / Softcover / 2017-05-01 / 1250131871
Psychoanalysis
reg price: $22.50 our price: $ 20.25
208 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Much has been written of the forbidden pleasures. But what of the "unforbidden" pleasures?

Unforbidden Pleasures is the singular new book from Adam Phillips, the author of Missing Out , Going Sane , and On Balance . Here, with his signature insight and erudition, Phillips takes Oscar Wilde as a springboard for a deep dive into the meanings and importance of the unforbidden, from the fall of our "first parents," Adam and Eve, to the work of the great psychoanalytic thinkers.

Forbidden pleasures, he argues, are the ones we tend to think about, yet when you look into it, it is probable that we get as much pleasure, if not more, from unforbidden pleasures than from those that are taboo. And we may have underestimated just how restricted our restrictiveness, in thrall to the forbidden and its rules, may make us. An ambitious book that speaks to the precariousness of modern life, Unforbidden Pleasures explores the philosophical, psychological, and social dynamics that govern human desire and shape our everyday reality.

- For readers of Oliver Sacks and Sarah Bakewell's How to Live

A dense, challenging, provocative meditation on morality and identity." - Kirkus Reviews

Reviews and Endorsements:

"Phillips is . . . a bit like an Oliver Sacks of psychoanalysis, both affable and unalarmed." - Gail Caldwell,The Boston Sunday Globe

"Phillips is one of the finest prose stylists in the language, an Emerson for our time." - John Banville

"Britain's foremost psychoanalytic writer." - The New Yorker

"Phillips gives an illuminating account" - Catherine Humble, The Times Literary Supplement

"[Phillips] writes playfully and suggestively on a topic that tends to get written about in the most unliterary of languages. This attractive quality in his work - its inviting (and mildly paradoxical) combination of the provocative and the ambivalent - is evident from the very beginning of his new collection, Unforbidden Pleasures." - Mark O'Connell, New York Times Book Review

"This slim volume is rich in psychological, philosophical, and literary insight." - Publishers Weekly

"There is a prismatic quality to Adam Phillips's thought. Pour in some Oscar Wilde or Emerson, Kafka, or, most often, Freud, and watch the British writer and psychoanalyst's refractions multiply, mesh, and twist in kaleidescopic considerations" - Chris Wallace, Interview Magazine

"Curiously addictive" - The Millions

"It is a real pleasure to glide through philosophy, literature and psychoanalysis with Adam Phillips. Through his fine essays, one finds oneself paying attention to things that repay reflection without demanding allegiance to a new set of principles." - Michael S. Roth,The Washington Post "

About the Author:

Adam Phillips is one of the foremost psychoanalysts practicing in the world today, and a visiting professor in the English department at the University of York. He is the author of many books, including On Kissing,Tickling, and Being Bored; and On Balance. He is also coauthor, with the historian Barbara Taylor, of On Kindness.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Phillips, Adam
other lists
Caversham 2017 Catalogue Titles
MacMillan Group
Psychoanalysis
Psychodynamic Books for the Layperson
Raincoast
St Martin's Press