shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Oct 17th - Stoicon 2020 Online [Modern Stoicism]
Oct 19th - 67th annual meeting of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, San Francisco, CA [AACAP]
Nov 1st - Providing Virtual EMDR – Revised 6-Hour Training [Leading Edge Seminars]
Nov 3rd - Occupation and Trauma: Expanding occupational therapy practice [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Dec 3rd - Collaborative and Proactive Solutions at School: Moving from power and control to collaboration and problem solving [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Now open for browsing, Monday-Saturday, 11AM-4PM! Still free shipping across Canada for orders over $50. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz
Eisen, Max
HarperCollins Canada / Softcover / 2017-05-01 / 1443448540
Holocaust
price: $18.99 (may be subject to change)
272 pages
Not in Stock, usually ships in 3-6 business days

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz, a heart-wrenching and inspiring new memoir by a Canadian Holocaust survivor

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” of January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation and a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia, into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of 60 members and grew up in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and an uncle and aunt. In the spring of 1944—five and a half years after the region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder—gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were taken to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. Fifteen-year-old Max survived the selection process and was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital, where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. After treating his injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner and an assistant in the operating room. After surviving both the war and new obstacles in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last 22 years of his life to educating people across Canada and around the world about the Holocaust.

Max Eisen is a Hungarian Jew who was deported to Auschwitz in the spring of 1944. He is a passionate speaker and educator who volunteers at the Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre and the Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center in Toronto. He currently resides in Toronto with his wife, Ivy.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Canada
Holocaust