shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Oct 20th - MBSR Teacher Training Intensive in Ontario [The Centre for Mindfulness Studies]
Oct 21st - Suicide Bereavement Clinician Training Program [SOS Workshops]
Oct 21st - Helping Families Heal: Addressing and Treating Trauma in Children, Youth and Families [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Oct 21st - Psychotherapy at a Crossroads: The Promise of Psychedelics and Plant Medicines [Leading Edge Seminars]
Oct 21st - 5-Session Clinical Extension Program: Practice Makes Perfect – Establishing a Successful Private Practice [Canadian Institute for Child & Adolescent Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy (CICAPP)]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz
Eisen, Max
HarperCollins Canada / Softcover / 2017-05-01 / 1443448540
Holocaust
price: $18.99
272 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz, a heart-wrenching and inspiring new memoir by a Canadian Holocaust survivor

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” of January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation and a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia, into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of 60 members and grew up in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and an uncle and aunt. In the spring of 1944—five and a half years after the region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder—gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were taken to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. Fifteen-year-old Max survived the selection process and was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital, where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. After treating his injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner and an assistant in the operating room. After surviving both the war and new obstacles in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last 22 years of his life to educating people across Canada and around the world about the Holocaust.

Max Eisen is a Hungarian Jew who was deported to Auschwitz in the spring of 1944. He is a passionate speaker and educator who volunteers at the Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre and the Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center in Toronto. He currently resides in Toronto with his wife, Ivy.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2019

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail info@cavershambooksellers.com
Hours: 9-6 M-W / 9-7 Th-F / 10-6 Sat / 12-5 Sun EST

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
February 2019 New Arrivals
HarperCollins
Holocaust