shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Jun 9th - Hack Your Mind for Better Health [MAGentix]
Jun 10th - Tips, Tricks and Techniques for Online Therapy with Children - live 2-hour webinar [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jun 12th - It’s the Law: What You Need to Know about Consent, Negligence, Confidentiality and more! - webinar [Leading Edge Seminars]
Jun 12th - *postponed to 2021* Trauma Talks 2020 - Intergenerational Trauma: Hope and Healing Through Trauma-Informed Care [Women's College Hospital]
Jun 15th - Emotionally Focused Individual Therapy: Applying Attachment Theory in Clinical Settings - webinar [Leading Edge Seminars]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Free shipping across Canada, until June 8th. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
Courage to Say No: A Female Doctor's Battle Against Sexual Exploitation in Pakistan
Mahmood, Raana with John DeSimone
Skyhorse Publishing Inc / Hardcover / 2019-08-01 / 1510742247
Sexual Abuse / Biography and Memoir
reg price: $34.99 our price: $ 31.49 (may be subject to change)
224 pages
Not in Stock, usually ships in 7-10 business days

Sexual harassment is in the news almost every day. Countless women have been intimidated into silence or their careers and lives have been ruined because they refused to submit to unwanted sexual advances. Yet, sexual harassment coupled with corruption is not singularly an American affliction. It’s an ancient disease, a truly universal tale. Dr. Raana Mahmood's story, Courage to Stay No, is a narrative of standing up against sexual corruption in her home country of Pakistan. It epitomizes the courage, audacity, and determination required to resist becoming a victim in a culture that places little value on divorced women. One that openly allows men to have a second, a third, and a fourth wife, all at a man’s pleasure.

After escaping from her husband's physical, verbal, and emotional abuse with her young son in tow, Dr. Mahmood filed for divorce and took up residency as gynecologist at a nearby hospital. After facing years of harassment from her colleagues for being a working woman, and suffering a nervous breakdown because of the vitriol, Dr. Mahmood eventually received a grant of asylum from the United States, where she became an advocate for other women looking to escape domestic violence and an inspiration to those suffering in silence.

In the vein of Reading Lolita in Tehran and Infidel, Courage to Say No is a remarkable and empowering story for our times.

About the Authors:

Dr. Raana Mahmood , a citizen of Pakistan, graduated from Peoples’ Medical College in Nawab Shah, Sind, Pakistan with a specialization is gynecology. After years of suffering domestic abuse and sexual assault at the hands of her husband, she eventually fled her home with her young son. Over the next two decades, Dr. Mahmood worked tirelessly helping many impoverished and neglected people obtain quality medical care. She wrote articles for the English and Urdu newspapers and magazines on elderly and women’s issues. In 2002, she received a fellowship from Federation of World Love and Peace at the U.N. In 2004, she was the recipient of a fellowship from ASHOKA International in the US. She is currently working with several organizations in New York, including the UN, ICNA, Humanist Organization, Scholars at Risk, HIAS, JASA, Upwardly Global, Dress for Success, Health Right International, Ashoka International, FOWPOL, Libertas Center, The Friedlander Group, and Make The Road. She lives alone in New York and continues to advocate for women’s rights to be free from sexual harassment at every opportunity.

John DeSimone spent twenty plus years working in corporate marketing and sales. He escaped corporate life in 1999, when he began freelancing editing with A-1 Editing Services in Oregon. In 2004, he completed an MFA in Creative Writing from Spalding University in Louisville, KentuckyAs a ghostwriter, he’s written several self-help books, and then completed a memoir for Natalie Suleman, Octomom. John taught freshman writing from 2008 to 2011 as an adjunct professor at Biola University. In May 2012, he won a Norman Mailer Fellowship and lived on Cape Cod for a month where he completed a draft of his novel, Road to Delano. He’s written memoirs for Bob Filner, Lizanne Falsetto, and several others.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
other lists
Biography and Memoir
Sexual Abuse
Skyhorse Publishing