shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Dec 3rd - Collaborative and Proactive Solutions at School: Moving from power and control to collaboration and problem solving [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Dec 11th - ONTABA 2020 Annual Conference [ONTABA - Ontario Association for Behaviour Analysis]
May 1st - American Psychiatric Association 174th annual meeting, Los Angeles [APA]
Jun 17th - IARPP Conference 2021 - Expanding Our Clinical Experiences: The Spoken, Unspoken and Unspeakable in Relational Psychoanalysis and Psychotherapy [IARPP]
Jul 9th - 28th Annual OCD Conference [International OCD Foundation]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Due to Covid-19, we are now open only for deliveries and pickups. Still free shipping across Canada for orders over $50. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
DBT Made Simple: A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy
Van Dijk, Sheri, MSW
New Harbinger professional books / Softcover / 2013-01-01 / 1608821641
U of T Regis College Texts / Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
reg price: $64.95 our price: $ 58.46
256 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.

The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue - everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist in private practice and at Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, ON, Canada. She is the author of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder and Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens and coauthor of The Bipolar Workbook for Teens. In September 2010, she received the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association for her research on using DBT skills to treat bipolar disorder. More information is available at www.sherivandijk.com .

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / 12-5 Sun (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
related events
Ananda presents Sandra Paivio
Clinical Applications of IFS
DBT Favourites
authors
Van Dijk, Sheri
other lists
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
Made Simple series
New Harbinger
New Harbinger Professional Titles
Raincoast
U of T Regis College Texts
Youth Concurrent Disorders