shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
May 29th - Deepening Your Clinical Supervision Skills: 18-hour Webinar [Leading Edge Seminars]
May 29th - Change Management: Successfully lead and implement change on a large, or small scale in your organization [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jun 1st - Certificate in Trauma Counselling for Mental Health Professionals: Level 1 trauma certificate [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jun 4th - Certificate in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy Level 1: Practical solutions to real world problems - live webinar [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Jun 9th - Hack Your Mind for Better Health [MAGentix]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Free shipping across Canada, for the foreseeable future. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
DBT Made Simple: A Step-by-Step Guide to Dialectical Behavior Therapy
Van Dijk, Sheri, MSW
New Harbinger professional books / Softcover / 2013-01-01 / 1608821641
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
reg price: $56.95 our price: $ 48.41
256 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room.

The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue - everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.

Sheri Van Dijk, MSW, is a mental health therapist in private practice and at Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, ON, Canada. She is the author of The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder and Don't Let Your Emotions Run Your Life for Teens and coauthor of The Bipolar Workbook for Teens. In September 2010, she received the R.O. Jones Award from the Canadian Psychiatric Association for her research on using DBT skills to treat bipolar disorder. More information is available at www.sherivandijk.com .

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
related events
Ananda presents Sandra Paivio
Clinical Applications of IFS
DBT Favourites
authors
Van Dijk, Sheri
other lists
Caversham 2013 Catalogue
Caversham 2014 Toolkit Titles
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
Made Simple series
New Harbinger
New Harbinger Professional Titles
Raincoast
Youth Concurrent Disorders