shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Sep 29th - OAMHP 2022 Conference [OAMHP - Ontario Association of Mental Health Professionals]
Sep 29th - Certificate in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) Level 1: The foundations [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Sep 30th - The Young Jung [C.G. Jung Foundation of Ontario]
Sep 30th - CADDRA 18th Annual ADHD Conference [CADDRA]
Oct 1st - Architecture & Wellbeing: Designing for Mental Health Care [DesignTO, KPMB and CAMH]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Now open for browsing 12-6 Mon-Sat and 12-5 Sunday for three people at a time. Pickups still from 9 to 6, Monday to Saturday. Free shipping across Canada for orders over $100. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
Zen and Psychotherapy: Partners in Liberation (2010)
Joseph Bobrow
Wisdom Publications / Softcover / Jun 2020
9781614296805 (ISBN-10: 1614296804)
Buddhism
price: $25.95 (may be subject to change)
274 pages
Not in Stock, usually ships in 7-10 business days

A new take on the interplay of emotional and spiritual development, in the tradition of Safran’s Psychoanalysis and Buddhism, which has sold nearly 13,000 copies.

“Please read this book. Joseph Bobrow is a true meditation teacher who walks his talk and enjoys his practice.” —Thich Nhat Hanh

What do Zen and psychotherapy have in common? How do they differ and how do they support each other’s goals?

This book is an intimate dialogue that examines the interplay of emotional and spiritual development through the lens of Zen Buddhism and psychotherapy. Zen and Psychotherapy artfully illuminates the intrinsic connections between the two practices, and demonstrates how these traditions can be complementary in helping to live a truly fulfilled and contented life.

Zen teacher and psychologist Joseph Bobrow deftly explores how integrating these two streams can help us to better understand our conscious and unconscious experiences and more fully develop the fundamental capacities of the self.

Bobrow shows how the major themes of trauma, attachment, emotional communication, and emotional regulation play out in the context of Zen and psychotherapeutic practice, and how, in concert, both provide a comprehensive, interactive model of fully functioning human life.

“This is a quiet book that works you, not simply informs you. Bobrow embodies unconscious affective communication between psychoanalysis and Buddhism. He’s lived it. The book carries it. The reader experiences it.”

— Charles Spezzano, PhD, author of Affect in Psychoanalysis and co-editor of Soul on the Couch

About the Author:

Joseph Bobrow, PhD, practices psychotherapy and psychoanalysis and is the author of three books. His approach is informed by years of practicing and teaching Zen mindfulness. He lives and practices in Studio City, California, and consults and teaches widely on psychotherapy, Buddhism, and how they enrich each other in transforming suffering.

Joseph is also the founding director and Roshi of Deep Streams Zen Institute, which offers Zen practice, interdisciplinary education, and community service. He has long been bringing together the best from Buddhist and psychodynamic traditions in his work to alleviate individual and collective anguish. Most recently, he developed integrative retreats for military veterans, their families, and their care providers that help heal the unseen wounds of war.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / Closed Sunday (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Bobrow, Joseph
other lists
Buddhism
Wisdom Publications