shopping cart
nothing in cart
 
browse by subject
new releases
best sellers
sale books
browse by author
browse by publisher
home
about us
upcoming events
Sep 24th - Speaking of Sex with Suzanne Iasenza - 4-Part Series, Part 1 [Leading Edge Seminars]
Sep 26th - Extension COURSE THREE - Discussing Netflix Series with Psychoanalysts [tps&i]
Sep 28th - Pathways beyond despair: Re-authoring lives of young people through narrative therapy [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Sep 30th - Certificate in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT): Level 1 [SickKids CCMH Learning Institute]
Oct 1st - ISSTD Toronto 2021 - Changing Landscapes: Transforming the Way We Understand and Treat Complex Trauma [ISSTD]
schools agencies and other institutional orders (click here)
Now open for browsing 12-6 Mon-Sat and 12-5 Sunday for three people at a time. Pickups still from 9 to 6, Monday to Saturday. Free shipping across Canada for orders over $100. Please read our Covid-19 statement here.
Join our mailing list! Click here to sign up.
Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice: True Stories of Therapy and Transformation
Robert W. Firestone, PhD
Prometheus Books / Softcover / 2016-12-01 / 1633882519
Self Help / Psychotherapy
price: $19.00
230 pages
In Stock (Ships within one business day)

Many people grapple with destructive thought processes or a "critical inner voice" that directs their behavior and, to varying degrees, limits their lives. Using deeply personal and very human stories based on his own clinical practice, noted psychologist Robert W. Firestone illustrates the struggles of his clients to give words to this "enemy within," and in the process overcome its damaging influence. These revealing and captivating stories offer glimpses into the uniquely human relationship that develops in the therapeutic encounter and demonstrate the powerful impact that the experience has on both client and therapist.

Dr. Firestone is the originator of a therapeutic method called "Voice Therapy," by which clients learn to identify the language of the defense system and eventually separate their own point of view from its harmful effects. Each story provides an intimate look into one person's life, illuminates aspects of his or her "dark side," and highlights an important insight into the therapeutic process.

This sensitively written book will evoke emotional responses in readers, and inspire them to take action to challenge the dictates of their own inner critic. Taken together, these stories underscore the distinctive merits and continuing relevance of the therapeutic process, especially in our distracted, technological world increasingly detached from feeling.

Reviews:

“Poignant and profound. Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice presents case studies by Robert W. Firestone. His work has always been, and remains, at the cutting edge of theory and clinical practice. A joy to read—for clinicians, researchers, and people interested in fostering personal growth and social progress.”

—Sheldon Solomon, professor of psychology, Skidmore College, and coauthor of The Worm at the Core: On the Role of Death in Life

“A very special book that is destined to join the seminal books of psychotherapy. Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice is written in the tradition of Yalom’s Love’s Executioner and Whitaker and Napier’s The Family Crucible. This book is both a literary and a psychological treasure. The eleven touching and beautiful stories perform a type of narrative therapy for the reader. Dr. Firestone increases the reader’s self-awareness just like he does in his real-life voice-therapy sessions. Readers will feel as if they are in the room as the highlights of the therapy process unfold, and they will learn how internalized voices guide an individual’s feelings and actions in life. This is a book that you will read over and over. A must-read for therapists and all others who want to know about how to change and grow through talk therapy.”

—Jon Carlson, PsyD, EdD, ABPP, Distinguished Professor, Adler University, Chicago

“This book is a wonderful surprise. It is so well-written and informative. We learn a bit about Dr. Firestone’s life and quite a bit about his work. The stories about his clients were fascinating.”

—Violet Oaklander, PhD, author of Windows to Our Children

“Firestone takes us on a journey to discover who we are and why we sometimes hurt ourselves emotionally. . . . Each case will touch the reader intellectually and emotionally, and they reveal that Dr. Firestone understands the human condition and, more important, how to make it better. This book is a must-read not only for students training to be psychotherapists but also for anyone wanting to learn more about what it means to be totally human.”

—Stephen Nowicki, PhD, ABPP, Candler Professor of Psychology, Emeritus, Emory University, and author of Choice or Chance: Understanding Your Locus of Control and Why It Matters

About the Author:

Robert W. Firestone, PhD, psychologist and author, has been affiliated with the Glendon Association as its consulting theorist since its inception. His innovative ideas related to psychotherapy, couple and family relationships, suicide, parenting, and existential issues have been the inspiration and cornerstone of Glendon's research and publications.

From 1957 to 1979, Dr. Firestone was engaged in the private practice of psychotherapy as a clinical psychologist working with a wide range of patients. From that time up to the present he has worked with high-functioning individuals in group settings, amplifying his original ideas on schizophrenia and applying these concepts to a comprehensive theory of neurosis.

Dr. Firestone's studies on negative thought processes and their associated effects have led to the development of Voice Therapy, an advanced therapeutic methodology to uncover and contend with aspects of self-destructive and self-limiting behaviors.

Dr. Firestone is the author of many books, most recently The Self Under Siege: A Therapeutic Model for Differentiation, with Lisa Firestone and Joyce Catlett.

Caversham Booksellers
98 Harbord St, Toronto, ON M5S 1G6 Canada
(click for map and directions)
All prices in $cdn
Copyright 2020

Phone toll-free (800) 361-6120
Tel (416) 944-0962 | Fax (416) 944-0963
E-mail [email protected]
Hours: 9-6 Mon-Sat / 12-5 Sun (EST)

search
Click here to read previous issues.
authors
Firestone, Robert W
other lists
Prometheus Books
Psychotherapy
Self Help